Chain Reaction

So…600 miles in 6 days! My initial reaction was “bring it on” but the reality has certainly set in. My first challenge, and likely to be the most difficult, is raising £1,500 from friends, family and colleagues. I’m getting on well with this and have had to apply a certain amount of pressure to get people to click and sponsor. Explaining how good they will feel afterwards, with a lighter wallet with obvious speed advantages, doesn’t seem to be working as effectively as I’d hoped! A huge thank you to all of those that have helped me thus far, I’m really very grateful.

Nice scenery... shame I'm blocking it out!

Living in South Wales, more precisely Cardiff, you would think I have an abundance of hills and open country roads to race along, and you’d be right! I do a lot of training by myself, which can be difficult at times, but I know I’m getting some good miles in my legs and I do get to see some of the amazing expanse of land that are the Brecons. I took a shot on my phone, just a shame my head seemed to get right in the way of the view. Honestly, that wasn’t my intention!

Using the saying “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” I’m going to service my Specialized Allez and join the team for a practice ride soon. The bike is amazing, having delivered me to work when I lived in London, 20 miles a day round trip, and a good weekend ride. It has also carried me from Land’s End to John O’Groats, and still going strong. Needless to say, I love it.

Right, better get to it…!

Ollie

Leave a Reply

